The Victor Tolgesy Award (Detail)
The Victor Tolgesy Award (Detail)


The Victor Tolgesy Arts Award

The Victor Tolgesy Arts Award is presented as a joint venture of the City of Ottawa and Council for the Arts in Ottawa. A cash prize is associated with this award. The award recipient also receives a bronze casting special edition version of the late Victor Tolgesy's 1963 sculpture entitled "Seed and Flower" provided by the City of Ottawa.


The Victor Tolgesy Arts Award was inaugurated in 1987 by the City of Ottawa and the Council for the Arts in Ottawa to recognise the accomplishments of residents who have contributed substantially to enriching cultural life in the city. It is named in honour of Ottawa artist Victor Tolgesy who died in 1980.

Nomination Deadline

Nominations open on December 16, 2013. The deadline for applications is March 1, 2014

To request a nomination form

(613) 569-1387 or
Or download the nomination form.

Guidelines for Eligibility

  • Nominees for this award should have been residents of Ottawa for a period of at least five years.
  • Nominees must be nominated by an individual or group.
  • No self-nominations will be accepted.
  • Posthumous nominations will not be accepted.
  • A recipient can only receive this award once.

Evaluation criteria

  • The nominee fully meets the eligibility criteria.
  • Diversity of the nominee's accomplishments.
  • Impact of the nominee's contribution to the arts in Ottawa.
  • Extent of their role in the development of the Ottawa arts community.

Application Process

  • An individual, collective, or arts organization may nominate a candidate by filling out the appropriate forms and collecting/submitting support materials.
  • Completed packages must be received by 5 pm on the deadline day.
  • Packages can be mailed or hand delivered.
  • Posthumous nominations will not be accepted.
  • Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.
  • All applications will be forwarded to the attention of the Awards Committee. Further information may be requested at the discretion of the Executive Director and /or the Awards Chair.

Selection Process

  • The Awards Committee will arrange a 3-member selection panel to create a short list of finalists and a final selection panel, consisting of the short list panel members and 4 additional members, to select the final award winner. The CAO Executive Director and the CAO Award Committee Chair will take part in the selection panels in an advisory capacity.
  • The Awards Committee will propose the selection panels to the CAO Board of Directors for ratification.
  • The nominee, who receives the greatest number of votes, will be deemed to be the recipient. The selection panel decisions are final. No additional approvals are required.
  • The award presentations will take place at a CAO arts award reception sponsored by RBC on April 22, 2014.

Application forms and materials:

  • Application checklist
  • Nomination form
  • Nominee acceptance form
  • Letter of nomination
  • Letter(s) of support (maximum 5 pages)
  • Nominee's CV (maximum 2 pages)
  • Nominee's Bio up to 100 words in length
  • Optional self-addressed stamped envelope for the return of application packages

Past Recipients

  • 2012: Elaina Martin
  • 2011: Jerry Grey
  • 2010: Mela Constantinidi
  • 2009: Christine Tremblay
  • 2008: Paulette Gagnon
  • 2007: Tom Henighan
  • 2006: Penny McCann, Director of SAW Video Association
  • 2005: Jennifer Cayley, founder and former Director of MASC
  • 2004: Susan Annis, arts patron and leadership volunteer
  • 2003: Robert Hyndman, visual artist and teacher
  • 2002: Eleanor Crowder, founder of Salamander Theatre for Young Audiences
  • 2001: Jennifer Dickson, visual artist and arts advocate
    2000: Julian Armour, founder of the Ottawa Chamber Music Festival
  • 1999: Harvey Glatt, volunteer, donor and supporter
  • 1998: Claire Faubert, actress, artistic director, teacher and volunteer; and Diane Holmes, arts leader, volunteer and advocate
  • 1997: Peter Boneham, choreographer and artistic director of Le Groupe Dance Lab
  • 1996: Ian Tamblyn, musician and composer
  • 1995: Anthony Bogert, arts supporter and opera volunteer
  • 1994: Barbara Clark, choral director and arts education advocate
  • 1993: Arthur Milner, playwright and artistic director of Great Canadian Theatre Company
  • 1992: No Award Presented
  • 1991: No Award Presented
  • 1990: No Award Presented
  • 1989: No Award Presented
  • 1988: Pat Durr, visual artist and champion of arts policy and development
  • 1987: Trudi LeCaine, arts supporter, volunteer and advocate; and John Robertson, gallery owner and supporter of the visual arts community


Peruse articles from our popular newsletter. more...

The Micaela Fitch Room provides a meeting/workshop space available for use by members, not-for-profit groups and businesses. more...

Discover the many benefits of joining the CAO. Become a member today! more...

Help build the CAO's programs and services - Donate today!

Join us on